Full Name


(301) 392-9362

Dr. Forbes received his PhD in Shock Wave Physics from Washington State University in 1976. He worked as a research physicist at Naval Surface Warfare Center, White Oak and Indian Head Maryland Laboratories from 1963-1996 and also at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) from 1996-2003.  He was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1992. He worked as an Adjunct Professor of Physics at American University in DC from 1994-1996 and as an Instructor of Shock Wave Science at LLNL from 1996-2003, which included one year (1999-2000) for the UC Davis Applied Science Department. He has been teaching courses on shockwave physics at UMD since 2004.  He won the American Physical Society’s George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award on June 17, 2015.   He is a Senior Research Scientist at Energetics Technology Center in St. Charles, MD.

Material response to rapid energy deposition. In particular, shock wave loading of inert and energetic materials.

Books and Book Chapters
-N. Eisenreich, L. Borne, R. S. Lee, J. W. Forbes, H. K. Ciezki, "Performance of Energetic Materials," pp. 509-600, Energetic Materials, Ed. Ulrich Teipel, Wiley VCH, 2005.
-M. Ross and J.W. Forbes, “Shock Waves and Detonations”  pp. 2411-2418, Encyclopedia of Physics, R. G. Lerner, G. L. Trigg (eds), Wiley-VCH,  Oct. 2005.
-Jerry W. Forbes, Shock Wave Compression of Condensed Matter – A Primer, Springer, 2012
Journal and Conference Proceedings
“Isentropic compression of cyclotetramethylene  tetanitramine (HMX) single crystals to 50 GPa,” ,  J. Appl. Phys. 99, 124901, (2006), Daniel E. Hooks, D. B. Hayes, D. E. Hare, David Reisman,  Kevin S. Vandersall, Jerry W. Forbes, and Clint Hall
Dynamic loading of Teflon at 200 C.” Paul A. Urtiew, Jerry W. Forbes, Craig M. Tarver, Kevin S. Vandersall, and Frank Garcia, pp.109-111, Shock Compression of Condensed Matter-2007,  eds. Elert, Furnish, Chau, Holmes, and Nguyen, AIP Conference Proceedings 995, 2007.
“Changes In Blow-Off Velocity Observed In Two Explosives At The Threshold For Sustained Ignition Using The Modified Gap Test”  R.J. Lee, J.W. Forbes, D.G. Tasker, and R.S. Orme pp.279-282,” Shock Compression of Condensed Matter-2009,  eds. Elert, Buttler, Furnish, Anderson, and Proud, AIP Conference Proceedings 1195, 2009.
“Shock Compression Sensitivity Change On Command Of Explosives Containing Smart Materials” US 7,927,439 B1, awarded April 19, 2011. 

Office of Advanced Engineering Education

2105 J.M. Patterson Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Copyright © 2017 University of Maryland. All rights reserved.

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish